Bill Wells | DS049 | Released: 05/12/11

Image: Lemondale

This recording, Lemondale by Bill Wells is a triumph and testament to Wells' particularly fruitful relationship with the Japanese underground.

Assembling fourteen musicians for one day in Tokyo, including Jim ‘O Rourke on guitar, the event was described as "a miracle" by Takuji Aoyagi (Kama Aina) one of the musicians on the record, so remarked for bringing together musicians and schools of music that would be thought to be incompatible even appearing on a bill for a live event, let alone playing on the same record.

Musicians that had never met and had come from different sides of the tracks suddenly found themselves together in the same recording booth. Tori Kudo, self proclaimed Japanese "King Of Error" was coupled with virtuoso pianist Satoko Fuji, a classically trained graduate of Berkley Music College in Boston.

The recording also brought together instruments as seemingly incongruent and unrelated as a modified electric fan played by Tetsuya Umeda and the entirely unique and heavenly voices of Saya, from 'Tenniscoats' and Kazumi Nikaido, one of Japan's leading contemporary vocalists.

It simultaneously captures the attendant excitement of a first collaborative encounter and the confidence that comes only from artists at the top of their craft. It is casual and intimate and alive with a charmingly human and playful spirit, of the kind that most music listeners long to be touched by.

On top of working with more exotic musical talent than ever before, Wells is making more beautiful records than ever before.


Image: Lemondale

DS049CD | Double Six | Out now

Add to cart: £10.99
  • 01. Toon City
  • 02. Harvest Bag
  • 03. Courtin’ Love
  • 04. Mizu Tori Kudo
  • 05. Invade The Pitch
  • 06. Piano Rolls
  • 07. Hack
  • 08. Effective Demand
  • 09. Mizu Tor
  • 10. Different Pans

Image: Lemondale

DS049LP | Double Six | Out now

Add to cart: £15.99