She & Him | DS009 | Released: 10/07/08

Image: She & Him Vol. 1

She & Him is a story of musical serendipity. Zooey Deschanel and M.Ward first met in 2006 for a movie soundtrack project in which they recorded a version of Richard and Linda Thompson’s “When I Get To The Border”. While in the studio, they were immediately struck by one another’s talents and found an instant rapport. During a conversation about their shared love of old records, Zooey let slip that she wrote her own songs, which she recorded alone at home on her computer. Somewhat shy about sharing these musical morsels, she was eventually persuaded to send them to M.Ward he was instantly impressed, and they soon reconvened at his Portland studio to begin work.

Recorded over a period of several months between acting work (She) and touring commitments (Him), the pair found time to bring Zooey’s fledgling songs to gorgeous fruition. Throughout the process, they took their partnership to the stage, first at the Sundance Film Festival in January 07 and then again on M.Ward's tour with Norah Jones.

Embracing the warm sound of classic analog recordings, Volume One is more than just a showcase for Zooey’s rich and alluring voice; it’s a distinctive and endlessly charming album. The songs themselves - 9 originals written by Zooey and 2 cover versions - give a respectful nod to the likes of Dusty Springfield, Linda Ronstadt and The Zombies while M.Ward’s production gives them just the right amount of golden era sheen. Whether Zooey’s channeling Ronnie Spector as on “I Was Made For You” or joining Matt in turning The Beatles “I Should Have Known Better” into a seductive hula guitar duet, the results are always enchanting.


Image: Volume 1 RSD

DS009LP | Double Six | Out now

Add to cart: £15.99
This item is not available in certain territories: See whole list

Image: She & Him Vol. 1

DS009CD | Double Six | Out now

Add to cart: £10.99
This item is not available in certain territories: See whole list
  • 01. Sentimental Heart
  • 02. Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?
  • 03. This Is Not A Test
  • 04. Change Is Hard
  • 05. I Thought I Saw Your Face Today
  • 06. Take It Back
  • 07. I Was Made For You
  • 08. You Really Got A Hold On Me
  • 09. Black Hole
  • 10. Got Me
  • 11. I Should Have Known Better
  • 12. Sweet Darlin’