Lou Barlow | WIG366 | Released: 04/09/15

Image: Brace The Wave

Lou Barlow has announced a new solo album, Brace the Wave, due out September 4th. His first solo release in six years, it comes as a follow-up to 2009's Goodnight Unknown and marks the third release under his own name. You can hear snippets of various album tracks, along with commentary from Barlow himself, in a new album trailer, which premiered with Pitchfork.

Barlow's extensive and celebrated discography includes releases from Dinosaur Jr., Sebadoh, Folk Implosion, and his first solo endeavor, Sentridoh. Most comfortable writing uncomfortable songs, Brace the Wave finds the songwriter exploring yet another transitional period in his life. Tracks like "Redeemed", "Wave," and "Moving", employ his early methods of tuning his ukelele down low and writing during the recording process, while album tracks "Lazy" and "C&E" are traditional-style folk songs that he performed live in the studio. The album was recorded in about six days with Justin Pizzoferrato (who also worked on Dinosaur Jr.'s Beyond, Farm, and I Bet on Sky) in Easthampton, MA, which Barlow now calls home after seventeen years in LA.

Brace The Wave Tracklist:

1. Redeemed

2. Nerve

3. Moving

4. Pulse

5. Wave

6. Lazy

7. Boundaries

8. C & E

9. Repeat


Image: Brace The Wave

WIGLP366 | Out now

Add to cart: £18.99
This item is not available in certain territories: USA

- Special Edition Ltd LP
- Includes Lou 'Polaroid Selfie’
- Heavyweight 180 GSM Vinyl
- Includes an MP3 download card


Image: Brace The Wave

WIGCD366 | Out now

Add to cart: £10.99
This item is not available in certain territories: USA