The Magnetic Fields | WIG285 | Released: 05/03/12

Image: The Magnetic Fields - Love at the Bottom of the Sea

After putting out three synthesizer-free albums, The Magnetic Fields are returning  back to synths with a fresh approach: “Most of the synthesizers on the record didn’t exist when we were last using synthesizers,” he notes. The songs — none over three minutes long — were recorded in Los Angeles, San Francisco and New York with Merritt’s usual cast of collaborators: Claudia Gonson, Sam Davol, John Woo, Shirley Simms, Johny Blood and Daniel Handler.

The Magnetic Fields’ debut album Distant Plastic Trees was released in 1991. In 1999, The Magnetic Fields’ 69 Love Songs established Stephin Merritt as one of his generation’s most talented songwriters. That breakthrough was followed by the albums: i in 2004, Distortion in 2008 and Realism in 2010. Between Magnetic Fields releases, Merritt has recorded side projects and albums with his various other bands, Future Bible Heroes, The Gothic Archies and the 6ths, as well as soundtracks to the films Eban and Charley and Pieces of April.

In 2006, Merritt also released a collection of songs written under the name The Gothic Archies to accompany the Lemony Snicket books, The Tragic Treasury: Songs from a Series of Unfortunate Events. In 2009, Merritt scored the Off-Broadway adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s novel Coraline.


Image: The Magnetic Fields - Love at the Bottom of the Sea

WIGCD285 | Out now

Add to cart: £10.99
  • 01. Your Girlfriend's Face
  • 02. Andrew In Drag
  • 03. God Wants Us To Wait
  • 04. Born For Love
  • 05. I'd Go Anywhere With Hugh
  • 06. Infatuation (With Your Gyration)
  • 07. The Only Boy In Town
  • 08. The Machine In Your Hand
  • 09. Goin' Back To The Country
  • 10. I've Run Away To Join The Fairies
  • 11. The Horrible Party
  • 12. My Husband's Pied-a-Terre
  • 13. I Don't Like Your Tone
  • 14. Quick!
  • 15. All She Cares About Is Mariachi

Image: The Magnetic Fields - Love at the Bottom of the Sea

WIGLP285 | Out now

Add to cart: £15.99

The first 100 vinyl orders will receive a limited edition signed poster.