HOT CHIP RELEASE NEW SINGLE NEED YOU NOW, WATCH THE SHYNOLA-DIRECTED VIDEO NOW

Hot Chip | 01/04/15

Image: HotChipNL.jpg

Prior to the release of their new album Why Make Sense? on 18th May, Hot Chip have announced details of their latest single in Need You Now. Watch the video for the single - directed by Shynola - below.

“We share a lot of the same references and attitudes - there’s a definite aesthetic affinity,” say Shynola of Hot Chip. “The idea for the video wholly came from our reaction to the song. What was intended to be a piece of thrifty filmmaking ended up being a mind-melting shoot - if you can imagine shooting multiple versions of reality, but completely out of chronology, plus in the pissing rain and wind.”

Why Make Sense? was recorded in Oxfordshire and London and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph. The album will be available on all standard formats as well as a Special Edition available for a limited time only, featuring a bonus Separate EP with 4 new tracks recorded during the album sessions. Due to a unique and bespoke printing technique which has never been used before, the new album Why Make Sense? will come in one of 501 different colours making every cover unique. View the artwork, designed by Nick Relph,HERE (GIFs available here:small |large).

Pre-order the album from Dom Mart HERE and via iTunes HERE. All pre-orders come with an instant grat of Huarache Lights and Need You Now.

Why Make Sense? tracklisting is as follows:

1. Huarache Lights

2. Love Is The Future

3. Cry For You

4. Started Right

5. White Wine and Fried Chicken

6. Dark Night

7. Easy To Get

8. Need You Now

9. So Much Further To Go

10. Why Make Sense?

Separate EP tracklisting is as follows:

1. Burning up

2. Separate

3. Move With Me

4. Re-harmonize

Hot Chip’s forthcoming European club shows are now sold out. The band recently announced further international festival appearances including Lollapalooza, Roskilde, Osheaga and more. Forthcoming live dates are as follows:


Tue 12 May - UK, Glasgow, Glasgow School of Art – SOLD OUT

Wed 13 May - UK, Manchester, Gorilla – SOLD OUT

Thu 14 May - UK, London, Oval Space – SOLD OUT

Sun 17 May - Belgium, Brussels, Les Nuits Botanique – SOLD OUT

Tue 19 May - Netherlands, Amsterdam, Tolhuistuin– SOLD OUT

Wed 20 May - Germany, Berlin, Heimathafen– SOLD OUT

Thu 21 May - France, Paris, La Gaite Lyrique– SOLD OUT


Mon 25 May – USA, George, WA, Sasquatch Festival

Tue 26 May – USA, Portland, OR, Roseland Theater

Thu 28 May – USA, Denver, CO, Ogden Theatre

Sat 30 May – USA, Minneapolis, MN, First Avenue

Sun 31 May – USA, Milwaukee, WI, Turner Hall Ballroom


Tue 2 June – USA, Detroit, MI, Majestic Theatre

Wed 3 June – Canada, Toronto, ON, Danforth Music Hall

Thu 4 June – USA, Boston, MA, House of Blues - Boston

Fri 5 June – USA, Washington, DC, Echostage

Sun 7 June – USA, New York, NY,The Governors Ball Music Festival

Sat 13 June - Turkey, Istanbul, Effe’s One Love Festival

Thu 18 June - Spain, Barcelona, Sonar By Day Festival

Fri 19 June - Spain, Barcelona, Sonar By Night Festival

Thu 25 June - Belgium, Werchter, Rock Werchter


Thu 2 July - Denmark, Roskilde, Roskilde Festival

Fri 3 July - Netherlands, Amsterdam, Pitch Festival

Sun 5 July - France, Calvi, Calvi On The Rocks

Fri 10 July - UK, Perthshire, T In The Park

Sat 18 July - UK, London, Lovebox

Fri 31 July - USA, Chicago, IL, Lollapalooza


Sun 2 Aug - Canada, Quebec, Osheaga Festival

Fri 7 Aug - Canada, British Columbia, Squamish Valley Music Festival

Sun 9 Aug - USA, San Francisco, CA, San Francisco’s Outside Land

Tue 11 Aug – USA, Los Angeles, CA, The Greek Theatre (plus special guests ‘!!!’ and Com Truise)

Fri 21 Aug - UK, Crickhowell,Green Man Festival


Sat 5 Sept - Ireland, Stradbally, Electric Picnic

Sat 12 Sept - Germany, Berlin, Lollapalooza Berlin