Julia Holter | 01/11/12

Image: Julia Holter

On December 3rd, Domino will reissue Ekstasis, the second album by Julia Holter. The release, the artist's first for the label, will also mark the first time the collection of songs has been widely available in the UK since being released to phenomenal critical acclaim in North America earlier this year.

The most fully-realised glimpse of Holter's steadily-developing, beautifully singular vision so far, Ekstasis follows on from the playful searching nature of 2007's home-recorded Eating The Stars EP and 2011's underground masterpiece Tragedy.

Ekstasis is an album that reflects both the conventions of Holter's extensive classical training and natural pop flair - as carefully considered from a compositional perspective as it is immediately affecting. Belonging on the same experimental pop spectrum as artists such as Arthur Russell and Laurie Anderson but nevertheless standing alone in its thrilling vision, it is a record that seeks to transcribe all of the beautiful, sweet mysteries of life.

Ekstasis will be available on CD, vinyl and digitally. You can listen to the stunning track "Goddess Eyes II", which will be released on December 10th here:

PRE-ORDER EKSTASIS HERE. Track-listing is as follows:

1. Marienbad
2. Our Sorrows
3. In The Same Room
4. Boy In The Moon
5. Fur Felix
6. Goddess Eyes II
7. Moni Mon Ami
8. Four Gardens
9. Goddess Eyes I
10. This Is Ekstasis

The follow up to Ekstasis will be released by Domino in 2013.