Quasi | 09/07/13

Image: Quasi Lead shot

Mole City is not in the tradition or deviating from the tradition – it is the tradition. After two decades of launching drums, guitars and pianos through the shifting interzones between harmony and chaos (moonlighting along the way with the likes of Sleater-Kinney, Wild Flag, Elliott Smith, Built to Spill and a long list of others), Quasi are a genre of their own - they write songs in the style of Quasi, and Mole City is the Quasi Song Book: Parlour Sing-alongs for the Last Century.

Quasi release Mole City on September 30th 2013 and also head out on a UK tour throughout December. Listen to ‘You Can Stay But You Got To Go’ HERE and watch the trailer HERE.

Now in their 20th year as a band, and a two-piece once again, Sam Coomes and Janet Weis hand-deliver the double album/Liberation Cookbook/Encyclopedia of Kicking Ass, Mole City, to those of us who still care about well-built, homemade objects crafted with integrity, spirit, fire, and skill.

This is the music at an agnostic afterlife juke joint where lysergic teardrops are cried into sweating mugs of high octane hellfire, the bartender can see clear through to your every thought, fear and desire, the upright player’s head is locked into a guillotine, and the guys next to you are whispering conspiratorially about how to fix their time machine. Shakin’ blues, precision freak-outs, air-guitar-worthy riffs, heavy round droplets of time, fuzz everything, wah wahs, ya yas, ooh ahs, grunts, shuffle struts and chiming minor seventh chords - this is rock n roll.

Mole City will be released on CD (WIGCD312), LP (WIGLP312) and digitally (WIG312D) on September 30th. Pre-order HERE.

The album will be available deluxe double heavyweight tip on sleeve vinyl with Quasi 20 year anniversary fanzine, featuring photos, and musings by Sam and Janet, Carrie Brownstein, Jon Raymond, Corin Tucker, Jon Spencer and more plus Bonus CD-R ‘Covers’ EP features Quasi versions of Dont' Stop Me Now (Queen), Let's Get It On (Marvin Gaye), and What's So Funny 'Bout Peace Love & Understanding (Elvis Costello and the Attractions).

The first ten deluxe LP orders will receive a voice mail message from Sam & Janet whom will create a one of a kind outgoing phone message just for you!

All pre-orders come with a copy of Quasi’s ‘Covers’ EP.

Mole City Track Listing:

1. *
2. You Can Stay But You Got To Go
3. See You On Mars
4. Blasted
5. Chrome Duck
6. Chumps Of Chance
7. Fat Fanny Land
8. Nostalgia Kills
9. R.I.P
10. Headshrinker
11. Bedbug Town
12. The Goat
13. Geraldine
14. Loopy
15. Double Deuce
16. Gnot
17. Dust Of The Sun
18. Mole City
19. An Ice Cube In The Sun
20. One And Done
21. The Dying Man
22. Clap Trap
23. New Western Way
24. Beyond The Return Of The Sun Of Nowhere

Below are the tour dates, and you can find the ticket links HERE

05/12/13: The Fleece - Bristol (UK)
06/12/13: Brudenell Social Club - Leeds (UK)
07/12/13: Broadcast - Glasgow (UK)
08/12/13: Deaf Institute - Manchester (UK)
09/12/13: Hare & Hounds - Birmingham (UK)
10/12/13: Colchester Arts Centre - Colchester (UK)
11/12/13: Shepherds Bush Empire - London (UK)
12/12/13: Norwich Arts Centre - Norwich (UK)
13/12/13: Cargo - London (UK)
14/12/13: The Haunt - Brighton (UK)


Image: featuring birds
Image: Quasi Bundle
Image: field studies
Image: Mole city