HOT CHIP ANNOUNCE NEW ALBUM 'WHY MAKE SENSE?' FOR MAY 18TH + HEAR FIRST TRACK HUARACHE LIGHTS

Hot Chip | 10/02/15

Image: Hot Chip Why Make Sense announce

Hot Chip will release their sixth album and second for Domino, Why Make Sense?, on 18th May 2015. Recorded in Oxfordshire and London and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph, Why Make Sense? is the band’s follow up to 2012’s critically acclaimed In Our Heads.

Watch the accompanying video for the Why Make Sense? album opener, Huarache Lights, based around a light installation by artist Robert Bell and filmed in one take by Andy Knowles below.

Why Make Sense? will be available on all standard formats as well as a Special Edition available for a limited time only, featuring a bonus Separate EP with 4 new tracks recorded during the album sessions. Pre-order the album from Dom Mart HERE and via iTunes HERE. All pre-orders come with an instant grat of Huarache Lights.

Why Make Sense? tracklisting is as follows:

1. Huarache Lights

2. Love Is The Future

3. Cry For You

4. Started Right

5. White Wine and Fried Chicken

6. Dark Night

7. Easy To Get

8. Need You Now

9. So Much Further To Go

10. Why Make Sense?

Separate EP:

1. Burning up

2. Separate

3. Move With Me

4. Re-harmonize


Hot Chip will be touring the US, UK & Europe in support of Why Make Sense? this May and June including an intimate club show at Oval Space in London on 14th May 2015. Tickets for all US shows go on sale on 13th February and all UK shows on 14th February 2015. The band will also headline the BBC Radio 6 Music Festival at the end of February, which is already sold out, as well as previously announced headline performances at Sonar in Barcelona in June and Green Man Festival in the UK in August. More live dates to be announced soon.

Full worldwide live dates with ticket links are as follows, with UK dates in bold:

Saturday 21st Feb – UK: Gateshead: BBC Radio 6 Music Festival - sold out

 

Tue 12 May - UK, Glasgow, Glasgow School of Art

Wed 13 May - UK, Manchester, Gorilla

Thu 14 May - UK, London, Oval Space

Sun 17 May - Belgium, Brussels, Les Nuits Botanique

Tue 19 May - Netherlands, Amsterdam, Tolhuistuin

Wed 20 May - Germany, Berlin, Heimathafen

Thu 21 May - France, Paris, La Gaite Lyrique

Mon 25 May – USA, George, WA, Sasquatch Festival

Tue 26 May – USA, Portland, OR, Roseland Theater

Thu 28 May – USA, Denver, CO, Ogden Theatre

Sat 30 May – USA, Minneapolis, MN, First Avenue

Sun 31 May – USA, Milwaukee, WI, Turner Hall Ballroom

Tue 2 June – USA, Detroit, MI, Majestic Theatre

Wed 3 June – Canada, Toronto, ON, Danforth Music Hall

Thu 4 June – USA, Boston, MA, House of Blues - Boston

Fri 5 June – USA, Washington, DC, Echostage

Fri 5 to Sun 7 June – USA, New York, NY, The Governors Ball Music Festival

Thu 18 June - Spain, Barcelona, Sonar By Day Festival

Fri 19 June - Spain, Barcelona, Sonar By Night Festival

Tue 11 Aug – USA, Los Angeles, CA, The Greek Theatre (with !!!)

Fri 21 Aug - UK, Crickhowell, Green Man Festival


Hot Chip are Joe Goddard, Alexis Taylor, Felix Martin, Al Doyle and Owen Clarke.