HOT CHIP STREAM NEW ALBUM WHY MAKE SENSE? IN FULL, RELEASED 18TH MAY

Hot Chip | 12/05/15

Image: Hot Chip - Why Make Sense? - Unique Artwork

With its forthcoming release 18th May on Domino, Hot Chip are streaming new album Why Make Sense? in full now - listen to the album HERE.

Why Make Sense? features the acclaimed singles Huarache Lights (watch the video HERE) and Need You Now (watch the video HERE) alongside the recently released title track - streamed via a mock-up news website coinciding with the UK’s general election (stream the track HERE) - and Burning Up (watch the video HERE), taken from a bonus EP, Separate EP, released with a special edition of the album available to pre-order from iTunes now HERE.

The new album was recorded in Oxfordshire and London and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph and mixed by the band, David Wrench (FKA Twigs, Caribou) and Jimmy Douglass (Timbaland, Aaliyah). The album features guest appearances from De La Soul’s Posdnuos and Scritti Politti’s Green Gartside (Love Is The Future), as well as live instrumentation and backing vocals from touring band members Sarah Jones and Rob Smaughton.

Why Make Sense? will be available on all standard formats as well as a special edition available for a limited time only, featuring a bonus EP, Separate EP, with 4 new tracks recorded during the album sessions. Due to a unique and bespoke printing technique which has never been used before, the new album Why Make Sense? will come in one of 501 different colours making every cover unique. View the artwork, designed by Nick Relph,HERE (GIFs available here:small |large)

To coincide with the release of Why Make Sense?, Hot Chip have announced a series of worldwide tour dates commencing this week, culminating in an extended run of shows including London’s O2 Brixton Academy in October. The band will also be making a number of high profile festival appearances including Glastonbury, Lollapalooza, Sonar, Green Man and many more.

Forthcoming live dates are as follows with UK dates in bold. Support on the October UK headline dates comes from new Domino signing Georgia (all dates except London) and Lonelady (London only) :

Tue 12 May - UK, Glasgow, Glasgow School of Art (w/ DJ Pete Fowler) – SOLD OUT

Wed 13 May - UK, Manchester, Gorilla (w/ DJ Pete Fowler) – SOLD OUT

Thu 14 May - UK, London, Oval Space (w/ Georgia) – SOLD OUT

Sun 17 May - Belgium, Brussels, Les Nuits Botanique – SOLD OUT

Tue 19 May - Netherlands, Amsterdam, Tolhuistuin – SOLD OUT

Wed 20 May - Germany, Berlin, Heimathafen – SOLD OUT

Thu 21 May - France, Paris, La Gaite Lyrique – SOLD OUT

 

Mon 25 May – USA, George, WA, Sasquatch Festival

Tue 26 May – USA, Portland, OR, Roseland Theater

Thu 28 May – USA, Denver, CO, Ogden Theatre

Sat 30 May – USA, Minneapolis, MN, First Avenue

Sun 31 May – USA, Milwaukee, WI, Turner Hall Ballroom

 

Tue 2 June – USA, Detroit, MI, Majestic Theatre

Wed 3 June – Canada, Toronto, ON, Danforth Music Hall

Thu 4 June – USA, Boston, MA, House of Blues - Boston

Fri 5 June – USA, Washington, DC, Echostage

Sun 7 June – USA, New York, NY, The Governors Ball Music Festival

Sat 13 June - Turkey, Istanbul, Effe’s One Love Festival

Thu 18 June - Spain, Barcelona, Sonar By Day Festival

Fri 19 June - Spain, Barcelona, Sonar By Night Festival

Thu 25 June - Belgium, Werchter, Rock Werchter

Fri 26 June - UK, Pilton, Glastonbury Festival

Thu 2 July - Denmark, Roskilde, Roskilde Festival

Fri 3 July - Netherlands, Amsterdam, Pitch Festival

Sun 5 July - France, Calvi, Calvi On The Rocks

Fri 10 July - UK, Perthshire, T In The Park

Sun 12 July - France, Aix-les-Bains, Musilac Festival

Mon 13 July - Switzerland, Montreaux, Montreaux Jazz Festival

Sat 18 July - UK, London, Lovebox

Sat 25 July - Russia, Moscow, Afisha Picnic Festival

Fri 31 July - USA, Chicago, IL, Lollapalooza

 

Sun 2 Aug - Canada, Quebec, Osheaga Festival

Fri 7 Aug - Canada, British Columbia, Squamish Valley Music Festival

Sun 9 Aug - USA, San Francisco, CA, San Francisco’s Outside Land

Tue 11 Aug – USA, Los Angeles, CA, The Greek Theatre (plus special guests ‘!!!’ and Com Truise)

Fri 21 Aug - UK, Crickhowell, Green Man Festival

Sat 22 Aug - Netherlands, Biddinghuizen, Lowlands Festival

Sat 29 Aug - Switzerland, Zurich, Zurich Openair Festival

Sun 30 Aug - France, Paris, Rock En Seine Festival

 

Sat 5 Sept - Ireland, Stradbally, Electric Picnic

Sat 12 Sept - Germany, Berlin, Lollapalooza Berlin

 

Tues 13 Oct - UK, Bristol, O2 Academy (w/ Georgia)

Wed 14 Oct - UK, Portsmouth, Pyramid Centre (w/ Georgia)

Fri 16 Oct - UK, Glasgow, Barrowland (w/ Georgia)

Sat 17 Oct - UK, Manchester, Albert Hall (w/ Georgia)

Sun 18 Oct - UK, Leeds, Beckett University (w/ Georgia)

Tue 20 Oct - UK, Nottingham, Rock City (w/ Georgia)

Wed 21 Oct - UK, Cambridge, Corn Exchange (w/ Georgia)

Thu 22 Oct - UK, London, O2 Brixton Academy (w/ Lonelady)

 

Tickets available now from http://live.hotchip.co.uk/

Pre-order Why Make Sense? from Dom MartHERE and via iTunesHERE. All pre-orders come with an instant grat of Huarache Lights (watch HERE) and Need You Now (watch HERE).

 

Why Make Sense? tracklisting is as follows:

 

1. Huarache Lights

2. Love Is The Future

3. Cry For You

4. Started Right

5. White Wine and Fried Chicken

6. Dark Night

7. Easy To Get

8. Need You Now

9. So Much Further To Go

10. Why Make Sense?

 

Separate EP tracklisting is as follows:

 

1. Burning up

2. Separate

3. Move With Me

4. Re-harmonize