YOUR FRIEND SHARES NEW SINGLE COME BACK FROM IT, DEBUT ALBUM GUMPTION OUT JANUARY 29TH

Your Friend | 14/01/16

Image: Your Friend - photo credit Crystal Lee Ferris

Taryn Miller, aka Your Friend, will release her debut album, Gumption, on January 29th via Domino. The second single from Gumption, “Come Back From It,” debuts today on Noisey with an accompanying video directed by Christophe Acker / Thatfilm and shot at the end of last year in Paris.

Says Miller, “We shot the footage on my last day in Paris, when I was there last November for Red Bull Music Academy, which was postponed following the awful events in November. It was freezing, and wild. He (the motorcycle driver) was weaving between highway traffic and at times, splitting the space between semis. It all came together at the very end of my trip, and was a really lovely way to leave after seeing what so many endured. There was this juxtaposition of the time that I arrived, and the night before I left. The streets were empty on my first day there, and it was exhilarating to be riding back into the city like that, and to have witnessed such resilience during such a dark time.” 

“Come Back From It,” was composed of salvaged pieces of an almost entirely scrapped song during Gumption’s demoing process. The whirling, dark, drum loop (arguably the backbone) and the crackling drone were the only original pieces of audio from the demo. Producer Nicolas Vernhes encouraged that there was something about the lurching nature of those elements that was worth pursuing. Miller already had a sense of verses, but there wasn’t a “relief,” as Vernhes said, when referring to a chorus. Vernhes sat her in the control room of Rare Book Room in Brooklyn and played Lou Reed’s “Pale Blue Eyes,” with the both of them in silence, then said, “You have thirty minutes, go write a chorus.” After the structure was formed, Miller took on the task of creating several, separate loops for each chord in the entire song, and Vernhes collaging them and achieving an overall cinematic type of texture.

“Come Back From It” follows the album opener and first single, “Heathering,” a brooding track Miller had been working on long before entering the studio. The opening acoustic guitar sample was something that Vernhes had caught before she knew they were tracking. It was left as somewhat of a playful placeholder initially, but then ultimately became an endearing and important part of the opening. 

Gumption deals with the dualities and nuances of human interaction, and questions how much we, as individuals, are responsible for in the ways we are perceived. It’s a record of courage, as its title suggests - of having the willingness to make necessary shifts, and to have a sense of self-awareness that ultimately leads to growth.

---

Gumption will be available on CD and standard LP via the Domino Mart. Pre-order the album from the Domino Mart HERE or iTunes HERE and receive an instant download of “Heathering.” The standard LP comes in a single jacket with a printed inner sleeve and is accompanied by a MP3 download card.

Preorder: Dom Mart / iTunes

--- 

Your Friend will tour in support of Gumption this spring with Domino label mates Porches and Alex G making a stop at SXSW, her first trip back since 2014. A full list of dates is below. Stay tuned for all news and updates via the new Your Friend website HERE.

TOUR DATES (w/ Porches & Alex G):

Wed. Mar. 9 - Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel

Thu. Mar. 10 - Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter

Fri. Mar. 11 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle - Backroom

Sat. Mar. 12 - Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Festival

Sun. Mar. 13 - Orlando, FL @ Backbooth

Mon. Mar. 14 - Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder

Sat. Mar. 19 - Dallas, TX @ Spillover Music Fest

Mon. Mar. 21 - Denver, CO @ Lost Lake

Tue. Mar. 22 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court

Wed. Mar. 23 - Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Fest

Thu. Mar. 24 - Portland, OR @ Analog Cafe

Fri. Mar. 25 - Seattle, WA @ Vera Project

Sat. Mar. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt

Mon. Mar. 28 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop

Tue. Mar. 29 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo

Thu. Mar. 31 - Santa Ana, CA @ Observatory - Constellation Room

Fri. Apr. 1 - San Diego, CA @ Che Cafe

Sat. Apr. 2 - Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge

Sun. Apr. 3 - Albuquerque, NM @ The Co-Op

Tue. Apr. 5 - Omaha, NE @ Slowdown

Wed. Apr. 6 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry

Thu. Apr. 7 - Madison, WI @ UW Student Union

Fri. Apr. 8 - Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College - Gardner Lounge

Sat. Apr. 9 - Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge

Sun. Apr. 10 - Detroit, MI @ Majestic Cafe

Mon. Apr. 11 - Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern

Tue. Apr. 12 - Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs

Wed. Apr. 13 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg

Thu. Apr. 14 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Fri. Apr. 15 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom