YOUR FRIEND SHARES VIDEO FOR GUMPTION

Your Friend | 15/04/16

Image: Your Friend - photo credit Crystal Lee Ferris

Your Friend is currently wrapping up a tour with Porches and Alex G in support of her debut album, Gumption, out now on Domino.  Ahead of her last week on the road in the United States, The FADER has premiered a new video for title track, “Gumption,” directed by Dan Huiting.

On the video’s concept, Huiting explains, “When I first heard this song I immediately had two images come into my mind. One was person trudging through the snow from overhead, and second was an overhead shot of that person stopping in front of a burning car. There's something about fire that is so mesmerizing to me.”

Taryn Miller aka Your Friend elaborates on the making of the “Gumption” video, “"I feel really fortunate to have worked with Dan. I've been a fan of his work for a long time. It was wild getting to see the fire footage after the fact since I was facedown in the ice for those shots. It was painfully cold but I would get hit with this wave of heat as the flames grew and it felt amazing in this strange way. In that, I couldn't see but only experience it physically."

TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Thu. Apr. 14 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *

Fri. Apr. 15 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *

Sat. Apr. 16 - Harrisburg, PA @ MakeSpace

Sun. Apr. 17 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba

Mon. Apr. 18 - Champaign, IL @ Accord

Tue. Apr. 19 - St. Louis, MO @ The Stage

Fri. Apr. 22 - Lawrence, KS @ Urban Outfitters

Mon. May 2 - Dallas, TX @ Club Dada ^

Tue. May 3 - Austin, TX @ The Parish ^

Thu. May 5 - Kansas City, MO @ Middle of the Map Festival

 

* with Alex G & Porches

^ w/ San Fermin

Purchase Gumption:

Dom MartiTunes