Fránçois & the Atlas Mountains | 16/01/14

Image: Fatam album annonce

We are pleased to announce the release of the new album from Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains, Piano Ombre, on March 17th 2014. La Vérité (RUG579D) will be released as the first single on the same date. Listen to La Vérité, HERE.

Piano Ombre, the follow-up to E Volo Love , is Frànçois’ first album to be recorded in a bona fide studio (in Entre-Deux-Mers, the ‘Between-Two-Seas’, region near Bordeaux in France) and with a producer (Ash Workman – Metronomy / NZCA Lines). The album was written in the South West of France (where Frànçois lives once again after moving home from his adoptive Bristol) and features his current line-up of Atlas Mountains - multi-instrumentalists Amaury Ranger and Pierre Loustaunau, drummer Jean Thevenin (all Frenchmen) and Glaswegian keyboardist Gerard Black.

Piano Ombre, which translates as Calm Down Shadow (meaning to ‘no longer be scared by things, because there is a way to see things in a positive light’), was written during a tumultuous year in Frànçois’ life. Lyrically, the album documents another journey, of personal struggle, discovery, conviction and resolution, however the darkness of the lyrics is counterbalanced by the bright, airy and upbeat production. 

Piano Ombre is a stunning and wide-reaching collection that reinvigorates the band’s gene pool of influences - from Afro-pop to French chanson and Yé-yé, mixed with more Anglo-phonic guitar-pop, like an aural atlas of gorgeous pop melody, zestful rhythm and lush ballads. It also manages to capture the ecstatic energy of the band’s live performance. The result is Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains’ most sophisticated, arranged album yet. Watch the trailer for the album, HERE.

Piano Ombre will be available on CD (WIGCD321), LP (WIGLP321), Digital (WIG321D) and limited edition vinyl with a bonus 7” featuring two exclusive tracks, Sleepwalkers Town and Bus Rouge (WIGLP321X). The iTunes edition (WIG321D1) will feature the two bonus tracks as well as an instant grat of La Vérité. Pre-order the album through Dom Mart, HERE and through iTunes, HERE.

The tracklisting for Piano Ombre is as follows:

1 Bois                                                                            6 La Vie Dure

2 La Vérité                                                                      7 Reveil Inconnu

3 The Way To The Forest                                                    8 Piano Ombre

4 La Fille Aux Cheveux De Soie                                           9 Fancy Foresight

5 Summer Of The Heart                                                   10 Bien Sur

Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains will be bringing their fantastic live show to the UK and Europe this Spring, as follows:

25 March: La Nef, Angouleme, France

26 March: London, Hoxton Bar & Kitchen (TICKETS)
27 March: Bristol, The Lantern (ex-Colston Hall 2)

28 March: Liverpool, Leaf - TICKETS
29 March: Glasgow, Stereo -
30 March: Manchester, The Roadhouse -

3 April: Gallia Théâtre, Saintes, France

4 April: Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux, France

5 April: Atabal, Biarritz, France

9 April: La Gaité Lyrique, Paris, France

11 April: Lune des Pirates, Amiens, France

12 April: Le Grand Mix, Tourcoing, France

16 April: Big Band Café d’ Hérouville Saint Clair, Caen, France

17 April: 106, Rouen, France

18 April: Festival Mythos - Antipode, Rennes, France

19 April: Echonova, Saint Avé, France

15 May: Laiterie, Strasbourg, France

16 May: Amalgame, Yverdon, Switzerland

17 May: Theatre Lino Ventura, Nice, France

2 July: Les Arenes de Nimes, Nimes, France