Fránçois & the Atlas Mountains | 23/08/12

Image: Plaine Inondable

Attention fans of blissed-out Gallic pop! 

Following the release of the critically acclaimed E Volo Love, Domino is to reissue Fránçois & The Atlas Mountains’ previous album, Plaine Inondable, on the 5th of November. Fránçois’ third full length album was originally released on Fence Records in 2009 and will now be available on CD, LP and via digital download, featuring new artwork.

To record Plaine Inondable, François returned to the comforts of his hometown of Saintes in France, and recruited members of local friends Unkle Jelly Fish and Bost Gehio (an all-female polyphonic vocal group from the Basques country) to be his ‘Atlas Mountains’.

For non Francophones, Plaine Inondable translates as ‘Flood Plains’ and is a reference to the town’s winter landscape – where the Charente River often bursts its bank, completely covering the surrounding fields.

Plaine Inondable marks a departure from the style of François’ previous releases which often featured casio-beats and lo-fi electronics. Here, piano chords swell, electric guitars gently shimmer, and François’ soft croon floats throughout – his bilingual songs melding the bitter-sweet yearning of Leonard Cohen with the melodic playfulness of Serge Gainsbourg and Françoise Hardy. The album also takes inspiration from recent compilations of African music recorded in the 1970’s (Ethiopiques, Mali 70) released by various European labels. The atmospheric rhythms and percussive elements, as well as some guitar parts and scales, absorb this influence, as François explains: ‘Be Water’ is built on an Ethiopian scale called Tezeta, the guitar on ‘Remind’ is inspired by the style of Ali Farka Toure and Group Doueh’.

Watch a video for Be Water from the record below and you can PRE ORDER PLAINE INONDABLE HERE.

The tracklisting for Plaine Inondable is as follows:

  1. Friends 
  2. Be Water 
  3. Wonder 
  4. Moitiee 
  5. Remind 
  6. Do You Do
  7. Otages
  8. Nights = Days
  9. Years Of Rain
  10. Pic-nic