Eugene McGuinness | 26/03/12

Image: Eugene McGuinness

We are super excited to be able to announce the new album from Eugene McGuinness. It's called The Invitation To The Voyage and is going to be released on the 25th June.

The Invitation To The Voyage is the second full-length from Eugene McGuinness and his most powerfully conceived and fully realised artistic statement to date. Recorded with the dual assistance of producers Clive Langer (Madness, Elvis Costello, Morrissey) and Dan Carey (MIA, Hot Chip, Santigold), it's an unabashedly bombastic, brave and above all, thoroughly contemporary update on a distinctly English strand of lyrical, gently fantastical pop songwriting that locates and celebrates the beautiful and the bizarre in modern life.

And most importantly it's got some cracking songs on it.

The Invitation To The Voyage will be available on CD, LP and digitally. The track list is as follows:

  1. Harlequinade 
  2. Sugarplum
  3. Lion
  4. Videogame
  5. Shotgun
  6. Concrete Moon
  7. Tunderbolt
  8. Invitation to the Voyage
  9. Joshua
  10. Japanese Cars

Here's the explosive video (featuring an excellently-tailored Eugene) to recent single Shotgun for your enjoyment:

And here's a full list of Eugene McGuinness live dates:

  • 20th April: Nottingham: Rock City *
  • 21st April: Glasgow: Barrowlands *
  • 22nd April: Dundee: Fat Sams *
  • 23rd April: Inverness: Iron Works *
  • 25th April: Leeds: Academy *
  • 26th April: Manchester: Academy 1 *
  • 27th April: Bristol: Academy *
  • 28th April: London: Forum *
  • 5th May: London: Camden Crawl, venue TBA 
  • 18th May: Liverpool Sound City, Kazimier, with White Denim

* - with Miles Kane