Villagers | 28/02/14

Image: Villagers Choice small

Villagers have been announced as winners of the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2013 for the album {Awayland}.The judging panel made up of 12 Irish music media professionals deliberated at length to choose the album that represented the best of Irish music from the shortlist of 10 records released by Irish artists throughout 2013. Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Meteor Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music.
The winner of the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year was also announced and The Original Rudeboys won the prize for the song “Never Gonna Walk Away”. Decided by the public via text vote and online through Meteor’s Facebook page, there was a fantastic response as fans got behind their favourite song.The prize was presented to the band by Niall Dorian, Director of Mobile at Meteor.

Villagers received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) - as well as a specially-commissioned award. The sold-out event in Vicar Street, Dublin featured performances by seven of the ten shortlisted acts. The event was hosted by Today FM’s Paul Mcloone and was broadcast live on the station on Paul’s show, as well as streamed live on
This year, for the first time, RTE 2 Television will broadcast a one-hour highlights programme of the Meteor Choice Music Prize on Sunday March 2nd at 10.25pm.

The full shortlist of nominated albums was as follows (albums in alphabetical order):

And So I Watch You From Afar
- All Hail Bright Futures (Sargent House)
Bell X1Chop Chop (Belly Up Records)
Girls NamesThe New Life (Tough Love)
KodalineIn A Perfect World (Sony Music)
Little Green CarsAbsolute Zero (Universal Music)
Mano Le ToughChanging Days (Permanent Vacation)
My Bloody ValentineMBV (MBV Records)
O EmperorVitreous (Big Skin)
Lisa O’ NeillSame Cloth or Not (Song Seeds Records)
Villagers{Awayland} (Domino)