She & Him | 30/01/13

Image: She & Him Vol 3

We are very happy to announce that She & HimZooey Deschanel and M. Ward – will release their third album of original material, entitled Volume 3, on Double Six Records on May 13th 2013 in the UK and Europe (and on Merge Records on May 7th 2013 in the US). The duo will also be hitting the road for a month-long US tour this summer which includes a headlining show at the legendary Hollywood Bowl on June 23rd, as well as an evening at Central Park Summerstage in July. The incredible Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell and Camera Obscura provide support on select dates.  A full list of tour dates are below. 

With fourteen songs – 11 Deschanel originals and 3 covers – Volume 3 is an effortlessly effervescent, bleached-out-in-the-sun pop record.  The album features some of the most dynamic, complex songs Deschanel has ever written, allowing for tempo shifts, disco grooves, string arrangements on multiple tracks, and horn flourishes that perfectly suit the She & Him sound.  Produced by M. Ward, and recorded in Los Angeles, Portland, and New York City, Volume 3 features guest contributions from NRBQ’s Joey Spampinato, Mike Watt, Tilly and the Wall, Pierre de Reeder from Rilo Kiley, and Tom Hagerman from Devotchka

Since the release of the band’s album Volume Two in 2010, much has happened to both She and to HimDeschanel, whose television show New Girl has cemented her status as a sitcom star, continued to hone her songwriting skills, writing the theme song for her new show, in addition to being nominated for a Grammy for Best Original Song for the movie Winnie the Pooh.  She wrote songs for Volume 3 during small pockets of downtime while filming New Girl, as Ward toured the world behind his latest solo creation, A Wasteland Companion, which was released to massive critical acclaim last year.  Together and separately, the duo has sold over a million albums in the US – a testament to their classic sonic arrangements, their rich, incomparable voices, and their ability to craft pitch-perfect, Brill Building-esque choruses around timeless, universal themes. 

Volume 3 will be available on CD (DS075CD), LP (DS075LP) and digitally (DS075D). Pre-order it HERE. Track listing for Volume 3:

  1. I’ve Got Your Number, Son
  2. Never Wanted Your Love
  3. Baby
  4. I Could’ve Been Your Girl
  5. Turn to White
  6. Somebody Sweet to Talk To
  7. Something’s Haunting You
  8. Together
  9. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me
  10. Snow Queen
  11. Sunday Girl
  12. London
  13. Shadow of Love
  14. Reprise (I Could’ve Been Your Girl)

Tour dates:

13/06/13              Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium

15/06/13              Grand Prairie, TX @ Verizon Wireless at Grand Prairie

16/06/13              Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theatre

18/06/13              Phoenix, AZ @ Comerica Theater

19/06/13              Las Vegas, NV @ The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

21/06/13              San Diego, CA @ SDSU Open Air Theatre

22/06/13              Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre *

23/06/13              Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl *

25/06/13              Salt Lake City, UT @ Red Butte Gardens

27/06/13              Council Bluffs, IA @ Hurrah’s Stir Cove

29/06/13              Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom #

1/07/13                Ann Arbor, MI @ Hill Auditorium #

3/07/13                Montreal, QUE @ Montreal Jazz Festival – Symphony Hall #

4/07/13                Toronto, ON @ Toronto Urban Roots Festival #

6/07/13                New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage #

9/07/13                Philadelphia, PA @ Mann Center for Performing Arts #

10/07/13              Boston, MA @ Bank of America Pavilion #

11/07/13              Vienna, VA @ Filene Center at Wolf Trap #

* with Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

# with Camera Obscura