Blood Orange | 31/05/11

Image: bloodorange

Devonté Hynes has produced a lot of music. Some for himself: Test Icicles, Lightspeed Champion and some for others: Basement Jaxx, Florence & The Machine, Theophilus London, Solange Knowles, Cassie, Diana Vickers. Somewhere in between all of this, Blood Orange was created.

Hynes has been living in New York City for the past three years where he has been concentrating on writing and producing for other artists. He simultaneously worked on songs in his bedroom, compiling them onto mixtapes that he would listen to while traveling around the city at night, letting the city’s nocturnal ecosystem seep into the music in his headphones.

Informed by the equally neon atmosphere of Chris Isaak, Billy Idol, 80's Japanese pop such as Yellow Magic Orchestra and French singer F.R David, Hynes took the songs that form ‘Coastal Grooves’ on a trip to the West Coast where he started turning the ideas into an album with producer Ariel Rechtshaid in L.A.

Alongside the music he heard playing in after-hours bars, Hynes drew inspiration from the identity blurring work of transgender icons such as Octavia St Laurent and the nihilism of Gregg Araki movies. Blood Orange is the music of a seedy yet inspirational New York night time.

For those of a dance floor persuasion two 12"s of remixes will be made available upfront of the album release.   Remix Part 1will be released on the 6th of June featuring remixes by In Flagranti and Krystal Klear, Remix Part 2 follows on the 11th July with reworkings by Bottin and Bicep.  Pre-order Remix Part 1 by clicking HERE

The first official release (the more eagle eyed of you might have picked up the infamous 'exotica sage mixtape' down an illicit highway or byway) from Blood Orange was the 'Dinner' 7" release on Terrible records, the label run by Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear. Check out the video for ‘Dinner’ below:

‘Coastal Grooves’ is available on CD (WIGCD259), LP (WIGLP259) and via digital download (WIG259D).  Pre-order the album HERE

Listen to ‘Sutphin Boulevard’, which will be released by Domino on the 1st of August here:

(Click on MP3 at the bottom of the player to download 'Sutphin Boulevard’)

Tracklisting is as follows:
1.   Forget It
2.   Sutphin Boulevard
3.   I'm Sorry We Lied
4.   Can We Go Inside Now?
5.   S'cooled10.  Champagne Coast
6.   Complete Failure
7.   Instantly Blank (The Goodness)
8.   The Complete Knock
9.   Are You Sure You're Really Busy?
10.  Champagne Coast